

Barbara Monahan Burke Jeffrey Carter Ezra Dweck Victor Helo Wayne Kartin Remy Kessler Michael McCue Ben Neumann Richard Niederberg Todd Royal Lisa Sarkin Gail Steinberg Jeffrey Steinberg Ron Taylor Rita Villa John T. Walker



## BOARD MEETING AGENDA

Wednesday, Jan 20, 2010, 7:00pm

at

CBS Studio Center, Building 8, MPR-3, 4024 Radford, Studio City CA, 91604

PRESIDENT

Ben Neumann

VICE PRESIDENT John T. Walker

**TREASURER** Remy Kessler

SECRETARY Gail Steinberg

**CORRESPONDING SECRETARY** Lisa Sarkin

4024 Radford Ave. Edit. Bldg. 2, Suite 6 Studio City, CA 91604 Phone (818) 655-5400 www.scnc.info

The public is requested to fill out a "**Speaker Card**" to address the Board on any item of the agenda prior to the Board taking action on an item. Comments from the public on Agenda items will be heard only when the respective item is being considered. Comments from the public on other matters not appearing on the Agenda that is within the Board's subject matter jurisdiction will be heard during the Public Comment period. Public comment is limited to three minutes per speaker, unless directed otherwise by the presiding officer of the Board. The agenda is posted for public review at: Studio City Neighborhood Council website (<u>www.scnc.info</u>); as well as CBS Studio Center, Radford and Colfax gates; the Studio City Library, 12511 Moorpark St.; the Studio City Recreation Center, 12621 Rye Ave. and at Carpenter Avenue Elementary School, 3909 Carpenter Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604 . As a covered entity under Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the City of Los Angeles does not discriminate on the basis of disability and upon request, will provide reasonable accommodation to ensure equal access to its programs, services, and activities. Sign language interpreters, assistive listening devices, or other auxiliary aids and/or services may be provided upon request. To ensure availability of services, please make your request at least three (3) business days (72 hours) prior to the meeting you wish to attend by contacting the Neighborhood Council Project Coordinator (213) 473-5391 or by e-mail to <u>Thomas.Soong@lacity.org</u>. In compliance with Government Code section 54957.5, non-exempt writings that are distributed to a majority or all of the Board in advance of a meeting, may be viewed at our website by clicking on the following link: <u>www.scnc.info</u> or at the scheduled meeting.. In addition, if you would like a copy of any record related to an item on the agenda, please contact office@scnc.info".

## <u>Agenda</u>

- 1. Call to Order & Roll Call (2 min).
- 2. Approval of Dec 16, 2009 SCNC Board meeting minutes (3 min).
- 3. Comments by President (3 min).
- 4. Public Comments on non-agenda items within the Board's jurisdiction (15 min).
- 5. Response(s) to public comments by Board Members (15 min).
- 6. Report Treasurer: Remy Kessler (5 min).
- 7. Report Crime & Safety Committee: Josh Rubenstein (5 min).
- 8. Report Cultural Affairs Committee: Christine From (5 min).
- 9. Report Outreach Committee: Suzanne Ekerling (5 min).
- 10. Report Land Use Committee: Lisa Sarkin (40 min).
  - a) Motion: The Board of the Studio City Neighborhood Council opposes all exceptions or variances to the Ventura-Cahuenga Blvd. Corridor Specific Plan related to additional signage, as requested by Chase Bank, located at 12051 Ventura Blvd. [APCSV-2009-2536-SPE-SPP].
  - b) Motion: The Board of the Studio City Neighborhood Council opposes T-Mobile's request for a conditional use permit at 12343-57 Ventura Court [ZA-2009-1823-CUW](ENV-2009-1824-MND) for the following reasons: 1. Inadequate proof of public need; 2. The building site is already above the Ventura-Cahuenga Blvd. Corridor Specific Plan's height limitations; 3. Obstructs views; 4. Proximity to the LA-RIO.
  - c) Presentation of a 20 min "Newsmaker" video a conversation with Los Angeles City Council members Eric Garcetti, Jan Perry and Dennis Zine and their plan for the City of Los Angeles in 2010.
- 11. Report Environmental Affairs Committee: Michael McCue (5 min).
- 12. Report Bylaws & Procedures Committee: Ron Taylor (5 min).

- 13. Report Transportation Committee: Todd Royal (5 min).
- 14. Report Government Affairs Committee: Barbara Monahan Burke / Rita Villa (5 min).
- 15. Comments from Board Members on subject matters within the Board's jurisdiction (5 min).
- 16. Adjournment (1 min).

