## **SCNC BOARD**

Jeffrey Carter
Ben Di Benedetto
Victor Helo
Wayne Kartin
Remy Kessler
Ben Neumann
Richard Niederberg
Todd Royal
Lisa Sarkin
Lana Shackelford
Gail Steinberg
Ron Taylor
Pasha Vafaee
Rita C. Villa
John T. Walker
Denise Welvang



## GOVRNMENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA Wednesday, October 5, 2011 at 6PM

PRESIDENT
John T. Walker

VICE PRESIDENT

Lisa Sarkin

TREASURER

Remy Kessler

**S**ECRETARY

Rita C. Villa

CORRESPONDING SECRETARY

Lana Shackelford

www.studiocitync.org

4024 Radford Ave. Edit. Bldg. 2, Suite 6 Studio City, CA 91604 (818) 655-5400

The public is requested to fill out a "Comment Card" to address the Board on any item of the agenda prior to the Board taking action on an item. Comments from the public on Agenda items will be heard only when the respective item is being considered. Comments from the public on other matters not appearing on the Agenda that is within the Board's subject matter jurisdiction will be heard during the Public Comment period. Public comment is limited to two minutes per speaker, unless directed otherwise by the presiding officer of the Board. The agenda is posted for public review at: Studio City Neighborhood Council website (www.studiocitync.org); as well as CBS Studio Center, Radford and Colfax gates; the Studio City Library, 12511 Moorpark St.; the Studio City Recreation Center, 12621 Rye Ave. and at Carpenter Community Charter School, 3909 Carpenter Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. As a covered entity under Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the City of Los Angeles does not discriminate on the basis of disability and upon request, will provide reasonable accommodation to ensure equal access to its programs, services, and activities. Sign language interpreters, assistive listening devices, or other auxiliary aids and/or services may be provided upon request. To ensure availability of services, please make your request at least three (3) business days (72 hours) prior to the meeting you wish to attend by contacting the Neighborhood Council Project Coordinator (213) 473-5391 or by e-mail to Thomas.Soong@lacity.org. In compliance with Government Code section 54957.5, non-exempt writings that are distributed to a majority or all of the Board in advance of a meeting, may be viewed at our website by clicking on the following link: www.studiocitync.org or, at the scheduled meeting.

Committee Members: Jeffrey Carter (Co-Chair), Rita Villa (Co-Chair), Richard Adams, Marcella Bell, Barry Johnson, Adam Sumner, Ann-Marie Whitman (Secretary), John Walker (ex-officio).

- 1. Call to Order & Roll Call (1 min).
- 2. Approval of July 6, 2011 and September 7, 2011 GAC meeting minutes (3 min).
- 3. Government Affairs Committee update by the Committee Co-Chairs (3 min).
- 4. Public Comments on non-agenda items within the Committee's jurisdiction (10 min).
- 5. Response(s) to public comments by Committee Members (5min).
- 6. Presentation, discussion and possible reconsideration of motion with respect to the CEQA exemptions. **Richard Adams** (5 min).
- 7. Presentation, discussion and possible motions with respect to Historic Districts. **Jeffrey Carter** (10 min).
- 8. Presentation, discussion and possible motion LA River matters including the Los Angeles River Improvement Overlay (LA-RIO) District the related enabling ordinance. **Adam Sumner, and Barry Johnson** (20 min).
- 9. Update regarding new filings in the *Los Angeles Times* on signs, billboards, native trees and other matters. Presentation, discussion and possible motions. **Ann-Marie Whitman** (5 min).
- Presentation, discussion and possible motion with respect to (outdated) Garbage Container Placement and Timing for Placement Ordinance. Barry Johnson (5 min).
- 11. Presentation, discussion and possible motion with respect to Flyers Left on Doorstop Ordinance. **Barry Johnson** (3 min).
- 12. Update with respect to our past motion to rename the "Universal Metro Station" to the "Studio City /Universal City Metro Station". **Barry Johnson** (5min).
- 13. Comments from members on subject matter within the Committee's jurisdiction (5 min).
- 14. Closing comments by the Committee Chair (3 min).
- 15. Adjournment (1 min).